WCCH Announces 2011 Physician of the Year


Wytheville, VA – In 2006, employees of Wythe County Community Hospital created the Physician of the Year Award to honor members of the medical staff for their hard work and dedication. Annually in the fall, hospital employees nominate physicians who exemplify the hospital’s five core values:

  • Delivering High Quality Patient Care
  • Supporting our Physicians
  • Creating an Excellent Workplace for Employees
  • Providing Community Value, and
  • Ensuring Fiscal Responsibility.
A group of retired physicians reviews the nominations and decides on the recipient.

The recipient of the 2011 Physician of the Year award is Dr. John Turski. Dr. Turski has been a member of the active medical staff for 16 years, practicing in multiple specialties including family medicine, emergency medicine, and palliative care. He has dedicated his professional life to taking care of patients and families for the past four years in two distinct settings: emergency medicine and end of life care. He is described as compassionate, calm, humble, soft spoken, a great teacher, a strong leader, and a role model to countless individuals.

Tim Bess, CEO of Wythe County Community Hospital stated “I am proud to have Dr. Turski as this year’s Physician of the Year.  Dr. Turski sees everyday as an opportunity to make a measurable improvement in the lives of the patients he cares for.  On behalf of the Board of Directors, Medical Staff and Employees, we congratulate you for your accomplishments and for being this year’s Physician of the Year."

Back to News Listing