WCCH Earns "Blue Distinction" from BCBS


Wytheville, VA – Wythe County Community Hospital was recently awarded the "Blue Distinction" for its Knee and Hip Replacement program by Blue Cross Blue Shield.

Blue Distinction is a designation given by Blue Cross and Blue Shield (BCBS) companies to healthcare facilities (typically hospitals) that have demonstrated expertise in delivering quality healthcare. At the core of the Blue
Distinction program are the Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care — facilities that are recognized for their distinguished care in the areas of bariatric surgery, cardiac care, complex and rare cancers, knee and hip replacement, spine surgery or transplants.

What Measures are Used in Evaluating Facilities for Blue Distinction?
The designation is based on rigorous, clinically meaningful measures (or “selection criteria”) established with expert physicians’ and medical organizations’ recommendations. The goal is to help consumers find healthcare facilities that have demonstrated better overall outcomes (e.g., fewer medical complications, fewer readmissions and higher survival rates) in the delivery of specialty care.

For each specialty area, BCBS does a thorough review of nationally established measures and includes input from expert physicians and medical organizations, including:
Blue Distinction Centers for Knee and Hip Replacement®

  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS)
  • American Board of Orthopaedic Surgeons (ABOS)
Since 2006, Blue Cross Blue Shield has focused on six areas of specialty care in our development of Blue Distinction Centers®: bariatric surgery, cardiac care, complex and rare cancers, knee and hip replacement, spine surgery and transplants — identifying more than 1,900* centers across the nation that meet the criteria posted for the public on the company website.

Back to News Listing